## **Summary of State Regimes Taxing Marijuana/Cannabis**

	State	Placement in statute	Excise tax	Sales tax	Licensing fees	Fund allocation	Exemptions & Deductions
Current state regimes taxing cannabis							
Colo	orado	Health Care (12 C.R.S.A., ArtS. 43.3,	(C.R.S.A. §§ 39-28.8-302; 39-28.8-305) • first \$40 million collected annually • the rest to public school fund	10% Retail Marijuana Sales Tax (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-202)  • Can be reduced by ballot vote (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-202)  Fund Allocation  • 15% local governments (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-203(a)(I))  • 85% to marijuana tax cash fund (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-203(b)(I))  2.9% Sales Tax (C.R.S.A. § 39-26-106(1)(II))  Fund Allocation  • to marijuana tax cash fund	Types of licenses (C.R.S.A. §§ 12-43.3-401, 12-43.4-401))  • Cultivation  • Manufacturing  • Research/Testing  • Related occupations  • Dispensaries (medical marijuana only, C.R.S.A. § 12-43.3-401)  • Retailers (retail marijuana only, C.R.S.A. § 12-43.4-401)  Fees  Both state and local fees (C.R.S.A. §§ 12-43.4-501; 12-43.3-301)  Application fees (C.R.S.A. § 12-43.4-501)  • Medical \$500  • Retail \$5,000  Annual renewal fees (C.R.S.A. § 12-43.4-310)	See individual taxes  Marijuana Tax Cash Fund (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-501)  • General Assembly annually appropriates money for any purpose, BUT prioritizes certain public health and safety uses. (C.R.S.A. § 39-28.8-501(b)(I) (b)(III) (b)(III)	Exemption  No sales or excise tax on medical marijuana or medical marijuana centers. (C.R.S.A. §§ 39-28.8-202(2); 39-28.8-302)(2))  Deduction  Repealed conformity to 26 U.S.C. § 280E. (C.R.S.A. § 39-22-304(2)(m), (n))
Was	chington e	Food, Drugs, Cosmetics, and Poisons – Controlled Substances (69 R.C.W.A., ch. 69.50); Excise taxes (82 R.C.W.A., ch. 82.12)	sales • Separate & in addition to general state & local sales & use taxes • Tax must be separately itemized from state & local retail sales tax on receipt provided to buyer • Retail sale of bundled transaction including marijuana products is	Marijuana excise tax is not part of	<ul><li>Production</li><li>Processor</li><li>Retail</li><li>(R.C.W.A. 69.50.372)</li><li>Research</li></ul>	Dedicated Marijuana Account  Annual appropriations to: (R.C.W.A. 69.50.530; 69.50.540)  • Dept. of Social & Health Services • University of Washington, Washington State University  • Liquor & Cannabis Board  • Local distributions	Exemption (not from excise tax)  • Marijuana for medical use (R.C.W.A. 82.12.9998 (from use tax), R.C.W.A. 82.08.9998 (from retail sales tax))  Deduction WA does not levy income tax. (http://dor.wa.gov/content/FindTaxe sAndRates/IncomeTax/) HOWEVER, WA has helped reduce the fed. tax burden on businesses by requiring excise tax to be clearly noted on receipts as local tax, & thus not subject to fed. taxation.

## **Summary of State Regimes Taxing Marijuana/Cannabis**

State	Placement in statute	Excise tax	Sales tax	Licensing fees	Fund allocation	<b>Exemptions &amp; Deductions</b>				
	New regimes									
Alaska	INI ch Axi	Excise tax on marijuana \$50 per ounce on sales or transfer from cultivation facility to a retail store or manufacturing facility (A.S.A. § 43.61.010)	No statewide sales tax, although local jurisdictions do have taxation power. (A.S. § 29.45.650; AK ST § 29.45.700)	Types of licenses (3 AAC 306.005)  • Cultivation  • Manufacturing  • Retail  • Testing  Fees  Marijuana Control Board (A.S. § 17.38.080)  Schedule of annual licensing fees (also application & renewal fees) (3 AAC 306.100)  • Retail \$5,000  • Limited cultivation \$5,000  • Manufacturing \$1,000-5,000  • Testing	None specified	Exemption None specified  Deduction AS does not impose income tax. (http://www.tax.alaska.gov/programs/programs/index.aspx?10001)				
Oregon	Undesignated at end of 2015	None	17% Retail sales tax on marijuana (H.B. 2041, 2015, sec. 2)  • Customer pays at point of sale  Up to 3% Local Option Tax (House Bill 3400, sec. 34a)  • General rules is taxation authority vests solely in Legislative Assembly.  • But a city may impose a tax or fee in its jurisdiction, if it gets legislative approval.  25% Retail tax by dispensaries after Jan. 1, 2016  • Tax-free sales by medical dispensaries from Oct. 1, 2015-Jan. 1, 2016 S.B. 460)	Types of licenses (Measure 91, secs. 18-22) • Production • Processor • Wholesale • Retail  Fees Liquor Control Commission Temporary Rules on Recreational Marijuana (845-025-1060)	Oregon Marijuana Account (H.B. 2041, 2015, sec. 14, Measure 91, secs. 43, 44)  • 40% Common School Fund  • 20 % Mental Health Alcoholism & Drug Services  • 15 % State Police  • 20 % Cities & Counties  • 5 % Oregon Health Authority	• Medical uses (Measure 91, sec. 6(2)(a))				
Washington, D.C.	Growing, possessing, gifting and using (but neither selling nor buying) small amounts of marijuana are now legal in D.C. after ballot vote, but the city has been blocked from taxing or regulating marijuana sales by Congressional action via the budget bill. (Washington D.C. Marijuana Legalization, Initiative 71 (November 2014); Consolidated and Further Continuing Appropriations Act, 2015, Pub. L. No. 113-235, 128 Stat. 2394, sec. 809.)									